RAV

The regional employment offices (RAV) are service providers specialized in the labor market, job placement, and unemployment. The services provided by RAV to citizens are twofold: access to a vast job pool (unfortunately with few jobs for unemployed academics) and support for the unemployed. In the latter case, it is not a question of finding dream jobs for job seekers but to reintegrate them into the labor market as soon as possible. Candidates therefore have no claim to work in the profession they trained for.

First Steps When Unemployed

Any employer who dismisses an employee must adhere to the notice period. If this notice period is not set in writing and if no collective labor agreement exists, the notice period is defined by the Swiss Code of Obligations. There is special protection against dismissal for the time spent doing military service, civilian service, or civil protection duty, and in the event of sickness, accident, or pregnancy.

When in doubt, inform your employer immediately by registered post that you wish to continue working.

Please note: If you hand in your notice without having a job to go to, or if you have been dismissed for reasons of your own fault, you will not be entitled to unemployment benefit for a certain period.

Important: Start job hunting as soon as the notice period begins and be sure to keep relevant documents (application letters, job offers, rejection letters, etc.) to later show to your RAV consultant. If you do not search for a job during the notice period, unemployment benefit will be refused to you for a certain period.

If you are unemployed when graduating, you can also register with RAV (for conditions, see “Claim to Unemployment Benefit”). However you must register immediately after receiving your degree certificate.

Registering As Unemployed

Register as early as possible, but no later than the first day on which you wish to claim unemployment benefit. Your unemployed status must be registered in person. Depending on the canton, this will either be at your local authority or at the relevant RAV office. Here you will be told how to proceed. You can then also select your unemployment benefit office.

Claim to Unemployment Benefit

You have to be fully or partially unemployed. You are also insured if you have a part-time job and are looking for a full-time or another part-time job. Important: You are not officially deemed as unemployed until - depending on your canton - you have personally registered at your local authority or relevant RAV office.

Your nationality is not relevant to your claim to compensation. However, you must live in Switzerland (foreign nationals require a valid residence permit).

You must prove that you have paid in at least 12 months of contributions within the 2 years before your initial registration (time limit for the contribution period) i.e. you must prove that you have been employed.

In the event that your contribution period was too short, you are insured if you could not work for more than a total of 12 months for reasons such as

  • Education, provided you were officially resident for at least 10 years in Switzerland
  • Illness, accident, or pregnancy, provided you officially resided in Switzerland during this time.

University graduates must expect to wait for a period of 120 days before receiving any benefit. This will then be paid to them for a period of 90 days except in cases where graduates were employed for a sufficient enough time during their studies that they are entitled to a longer period of payment. This is examined on an individual basis. The amount of unemployment benefit a person receives depends on age: Graduates over 25 years receive CHF 3220.-; if younger and childless, they receive CHF 1660.-

Personal consultations are held with a RAV officer in order to agree how many applications are to be sent each month, and which jobs you will be expected to accept (volume of hours, commute, job requirements, etc.). Acceptable work is defined as follows:

  • The salary corresponds to local and sector standards
  • The salary amounts to at least 70% of the insured salary; the position corresponds to standard employment conditions under Swiss OR (Swiss Law of Obligations)
  • The commute is no longer than 4 hours a day
  • The work corresponds to the candidate’s skills and previous employment.

The list on which candidates enter information on the efforts they have made to find a job is checked monthly by the RAV officer and is used as the basis for granting benefits. If you make insufficient effort to find acceptable work or you reject a position suggested by RAV, you can - depending on your culpability - lose entitlement to benefits for a period of up to 60 days. If acceptable work is offered to you, you are obliged to take it.

If you are unemployed for a longer period, reintegration steps will be considered.

Academics and RAV

RAV does not offer student advisory services itself but works with corresponding service centers and some special programs are available for academics. Traineeships are also encouraged as they open up a wider contact network to academics searching for work.

In general, it can be said that academics are not RAV’s main target audience. Since it is difficult for RAV consultants to judge the competencies gained on a university program, they can only give limited advice to unemployed academics.

RAV

Die Regionalen Arbeitsvermittlungszentren (RAV) sind Dienststellen, die in den Bereichen Arbeitsmarkt, Stellenvermittlung und Arbeitslosigkeit spezialisiert sind. Beim RAV kannst du zwei Dienstleistungen erwarten: eine grosse Stellenbörse (leider wenige Jobs für arbeitslos gemeldete Akademiker:innen) und Unterstützung bei Arbeitslosigkeit. Bei der Reintegration von Stellensuchenden geht es nicht darum, den Arbeitslosen einen Traumjob zu vermitteln, sondern diese möglichst schnell wieder in den Arbeitsmarkt einzugliedern. Man hat also keinen Anspruch darauf, den gelernten Beruf auszuüben.

Erste Schritte bei Arbeitslosigkeit

Kündigt dir dein Arbeitgeber, muss er die Kündigungsfrist einhalten. Wenn diese Frist nicht schriftlich vereinbart wurde und kein Gesamtarbeitsvertrag besteht, ist die Kündigungsfrist durch das Obligationenrecht geregelt. Es besteht ferner ein besonderer Kündigungsschutz, der für die Zeit des Militärdienstes, des Zivildienstes oder des Dienstes im Zivilschutz, bei Krankheit oder Unfall sowie bei Schwangerschaft gilt.

Gib deinem Arbeitgeber im Zweifelsfall unverzüglich per eingeschriebenem Brief bekannt, dass du weiterarbeiten willst.

Achtung: Wenn du selber kündigst, ohne eine neue Stelle in Aussicht zu haben, oder wenn dir wegen eigenem Verschulden gekündigt wird, erhältst du während einer gewissen Zeit keine Arbeitslosenentschädigung.

Wichtig: Fang bereits während der Kündigungsfrist mit der Arbeitssuche an und bewahre die entsprechenden Unterlagen gut auf (Bewerbungsschreiben, Stellenangebote, Absagebriefe usw.), welche du danach deinem/deiner RAV-Personalberater:in vorlegen kannst. Wenn du während der Kündigungsfrist keine neue Stelle gesucht hast, erhältst du während einer gewissen Zeit keine Arbeitslosenentschädigung.

Solltest du nach Abschluss des Studiums arbeitslos sein, kannst du dich ebenfalls beim RAV anmelden (Bedingungen siehe „Anspruch auf Arbeitslosenentschädigung“). Du musst dies allerdings gleich nach Erhalt deines Abschlusszeugnisses tun.

Meldung der Arbeitslosigkeit

Melde dich möglichst frühzeitig, spätestens jedoch am ersten Tag, für den du Leistungen der Arbeitslosenversicherung beanspruchst. Die Arbeitslosigkeit muss persönlich gemeldet werden - je nach Kanton entweder bei der Wohngemeinde oder beim zuständigen RAV. Dort wird dir das weitere Vorgehen erläutert. Auch kannst du dann deine Arbeitslosenkasse frei wählen.

Anspruch auf Arbeitslosenentschädigung

Du musst ganz oder teilweise arbeitslos sein. Du bist ebenfalls versichert, wenn du eine Teilzeitstelle hast und eine Vollzeit- oder eine weitere Teilzeitbeschäftigung suchst. Wichtig: Du giltst erst dann als arbeitslos, wenn du dich je nach Kanton bei deiner Wohngemeinde oder beim zuständigen RAV persönlich gemeldet hast.

Deine Staatsangehörigkeit spielt für den Anspruch auf Entschädigung keine Rolle. Du musst aber in der Schweiz wohnen (Ausländer:innen müssen eine gültige Niederlassungs- oder Aufenthaltsbewilligung haben).

Du musst innerhalb der letzten 2 Jahre (Rahmenfrist für die Beitragszeit) vor der Erstanmeldung mindestens 12 Beitragsmonate nachweisen, das heisst, als Arbeitnehmer:in gearbeitet haben.

Bei fehlender Beitragszeit bist du unter anderem versichert, wenn du während insgesamt mehr als 12 Monaten nicht in einem Arbeitsverhältnis stehen konntest wegen

  • Ausbildung, sofern du während mindestens 10 Jahren in der Schweiz Wohnsitz hattest;
  • Krankheit, Unfall oder Mutterschaft, sofern du während dieser Zeit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz hattest.

Hochschulabsolvent:innen müssen mit einer Wartefrist von 120 Tagen rechnen, bis sie zum ersten Mal Geld bekommen. Dieses wird ihnen dann 90 Tage lang ausbezahlt, ausser die Absolvierenden haben während des Studiums schon so viel gearbeitet, dass die Bezugsdauer verlängert wird. Dies wird im Einzelfall abgeklärt. Die Höhe des Arbeitslosengeld hängt dabei vom Alter ab: Sind die Absolvierenden schon über 25 Jahre, bekommen sie 3220.- CHF, sind sie jünger und kinderlos 1660.- CHF.

Ablauf Arbeitssuche beim RAV

Mit dem persönlichen RAV-Personalberatenden wird die Anzahl der Bewerbungen, die im Monat zu schreiben sind, vereinbart und es wird abgemacht, welche Stellen zumutbar sind (Pensum, Pendeln, Anforderungen etc.). Zumutbare Arbeit definiert sich wie folgt:

  • der Lohn ist orts- und branchenüblich;
  • der Lohn beträgt mindestens 70% des versicherten Verdienstes; die Stelle entspricht den üblichen Arbeitsbedingungen gemäss OR;
  • der Arbeitsweg ist nicht länger als 4 Stunden pro Tag;
  • die Arbeit entspricht den Fähigkeiten und bisherigen Tätigkeiten.

Die Liste mit dem Nachweis der Arbeitsbemühungen wird monatlich vom RAV-Personalberatenden kontrolliert und aufgrund dessen wird die Arbeitslosenentschädigung ausbezahlt. Falls du dich nicht genügend um zumutbare Arbeit bemühst oder eine vom RAV vorgeschlagene Stelle ablehnst, kannst du je nach Verschulden bis zu einer Dauer von 60 Arbeitstagen keine Gelder mehr bekommen. Wird dir eine zumutbare Stelle angeboten, musst du diese also annehmen.

Bist du länger arbeitslos, werden Wiedereingliederungsmassnahmen in Betracht gezogen.

Akademiker:innen auf dem RAV

Das RAV bietet selber keine Studienberatung an, arbeitet aber mit entsprechenden Stellen zusammen. Auch gibt es zum Teil spezielle Programme für Akademiker:innen. Weiter werden Praktika gefördert, weil sie den stellensuchenden Akademiker:innen ein grösseres Beziehungsnetz eröffnen.

Allgemein lässt sich aber sagen, dass Akademiker:innen beim RAV nicht die Hauptzielgruppe sind. Die RAV-Personalberatenden können die im Hochschulstudium erworbenen Kompetenzen schwierig einschätzen und die arbeitslosen Akademiker:innen nur bedingt beraten.