Pay (In)Equality

The principle is simple: Women and men receive the same pay for the same work. Salary differences that cannot be explained by objective factors such as education, requirements level, professional position, employment level, number of years served, or size of the organization amount to pay discrimination. 

Nevertheless, there is pay inequality in Switzerland, which affects not only monthly finances, but also pension provision.

More information on explainable and unexplainable/discriminatory causes of these wage differences and calculation examples can be found on the website of the cantonal Office for the Equality of Men and Women (information available in German only).

Pay Discrimination at Entry Level

The difference in pay starts on the first day of the job. Even with identical qualifications and education levels, young women enter professional life on lower pay scales than their male peers.

Thereafter, male salaries also rise more quickly and the pay gap opens up even further during the initial years. An analysis of salaries based on education levels shows that the pay gap among university graduates is the highest.

Paradoxically, the pay gap in well-mixed professions with an even gender balance is particularly high. On top of this, women earn less not only in professions that are typical for men but also in those typical for women, while men earn even more than women in women’s professions.

Women wanting to combat pay discrimination are advised to not only prepare thoroughly for pay negotiations and assessment talks, but also to carefully consider their choice of employer. Even at the stage of choosing a degree program, it helps to base your choice on the labor market and its need for trained professionals.

Equal Pay is Enforceable

You can get tips and advice on pay discrimination, applications, assessment talks, career development, and much more from the staff at the Office for the Equality of Men and Women of the Canton of Zurich. In addition, the Gender Equality Act enables individuals, professional bodies, and trade unions to take legal action against gender-based pay discrimination and to demand salary adjustments and back payments. Cases already negotiated are stored in an online database for others to view.

Decisions based on the Gender Equality Act (in German)

Lohn(un)gleichheit

Das Prinzip ist einfach: Frauen* und Männer* erhalten für gleichwertige Arbeit gleichwertigen Lohn. Lohndifferenzen, die nicht durch objektive Faktoren wie Ausbildung, Anforderungsniveau, berufliche Stellung, Beschäftigungsgrad, Dienstalter oder Betriebsgrösse erklärt werden können, gelten als Lohndiskriminierung. 

Trotzdem gibt es in der Schweiz eine Lohnungleichheit, die sich nicht nur auf die monatlichen Finanzen, sondern auch auf die Altersvorsorge auswirkt.

Mehr Informationen zu erklärbaren und unerklärbaren/diskriminierenden Ursachen für diese Lohnunterschiede und Rechenbeispiele findest du auf der Seite der kantonalen Fachstelle für Gleichstellung von Mann* und Frau*.

Lohndiskriminierung beim Berufseinstieg

Schon beim Berufseinstieg machen sich Lohnunterschiede bemerkbar. Selbst bei gleich guten Qualifikationen und identischen Ausbildungen steigen junge Frauen* mit tieferen Löhnen ins Berufsleben ein als Männer*.

Nach dem Berufseinstieg steigen die Löhne bei Männer* zudem schneller an und die Lohnschere öffnet sich während der ersten Berufsjahren noch weiter. Eine Unterscheidung der Löhne nach Ausbildung zeigt, dass die Lohndifferenzen bei Universitätsabsolvierenden am höchsten sind.

Paradoxer Weise sind die Lohnunterschiede in gut durchmischten Berufen mit einem ausgewogenen Geschlechterverhältnis besonders gross. Zudem verdienen Frauen* sowohl in «männertypischen» als auch «frauentypischen» Berufen weniger, während Männer* sogar in «Frauenberufen» mehr als Frauen* verdienen.

Frauen* die der Lohndiskriminierung aktiv entgegenwirken wollen, sollten sich nicht nur besonders gut auf Lohnverhandlungen und Mitarbeitenden-Gespräche vorbereiten, sondern Arbeitgeber sehr gezielt und überlegt auswählen. Es hilft auch sich schon bei der Studienwahl gezielt am Fachkräftebedarf und Arbeitsmarkt zu orientieren.

Lohngleichheit ist einklagbar

Tipps und Beratung von Arbeitnehmerinnen* zum Thema Lohndiskriminierung, Bewerbung, Mitareitendengespräch, Laufbahn und vielem mehr bietet dir die Fachstelle für Gleichstellung von Frau* und Mann* des Kanton Zürich. Zudem ermöglicht das Gleichstellungsgesetz Einzelpersonen, Berufsverbänden und Gewerkschaften, Lohndiskriminierungen aufgrund des Geschlechts einzuklagen und Lohnanpassungen sowie Lohnnachzahlungen zu fordern. Bereits verhandelte Fälle können in der Online-Datenbank eingesehen und nachgelesen werden.

«Entscheide nach Gleichstellungsgesetz»