Employment Agencies

Overview

There are various kinds of agencies that help graduates find a job. Roughly speaking, they can be divided into three main groups:

1. Executive Search

Mostly large international companies that recruit executive staff for their corporate customers. Important to know for first-time employees: These agencies do not offer jobs to newcomers. However, they will certainly be interested at a later date.

2. Job Agencies

Either small offices (staff of 1 to 10) that are specialized in a subject area (finance, IT, pharmaceuticals, sales, etc.) or larger companies with several subsidiaries spread across various regions in Switzerland and across different fields.
Important to know for first-time employees: It is worth comparing a number of job agencies. Depending on the field a job agency can indeed be of help in finding a job but it highly depends on the field. For graduates, the specialized job agencies are particularly helpful (specialized in finance, pharmaceuticals, engineering). It is worth also looking at smaller boutique agencies too which are often specialized in a niche market (engineering, pharmaceuticals, quants, etc.)

3. Staff Leasing Services

Usually larger agencies with several subsidiaries, distributed across all regions of Switzerland, these HR service providers are specialized in hiring out staff. The agencies recruit the candidates on behalf of the customer, and employ them themselves, to then contract the candidates out to the customer. Many large corporations use this recruiting method for temporary projects.
Important to know for first-time employees: This can give first-time employees the chance to get a foot into a large corporation by way of a project.

General Tips for University Graduates

  • A recent trend among companies looking for first-time employees sees a gradual return to inhouse recruiting methods. However, for specialized and highly sought-after candidates, these companies often use the services of employment agencies.
  • Therefore, the more specialized and more sought-after your qualifications, the better it is to use an employment agency.
  • Entering an organization through a project: Take a look at the possibility of accepting a temporary position to gain entry into a company.
  • Working with job agencies: Do not work with too many agencies to avoid overlaps. Always check where the agency is sending your application as companies react badly if they receive an application twice for the same job.
  • Private employment agencies, of which there are many, are agencies that have contracts with companies to fill positions that are not publicly advertised.
  • At www.avg-seco.admin.ch you will find a list of approved private employment agencies and staff leasing agencies.
  • The Swissstaffing association of HR service providers enables you to search for recruitment agencies based on canton or sector.

RAV

If you are registered as unemployed, you will have access to the services provided by the government’s regional employment offices, RAV. Further information on RAV can be found here.

Stellenvermittlung

Überblick

Es gibt verschiedene Arten von Personalagenturen, die Hochschulabsolvent:innen bei ihrer Stellensuche unterstützen. Grob kann man das Angebot in drei verschiedene Gruppen einteilen:

1. Executive Search

Meistens grosse, internationale Firmen, welche weltweit im Auftrag von Firmen Kadermitarbeiter:innen rekrutieren. Wichtig zu wissen für Berufseinsteiger:innen: Diese bieten für Berufseinsteiger:innen keine Stellen an. Sind aber zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt sicher sehr interessant.

2. Personalvermittlung

Entweder kleine Büros (1 bis 10 Mitarbeiter:innen), die spezialisiert sind auf ein Fachgebiet (Finance, IT, Pharma, Sales etc.) oder grössere Unternehmen mit mehreren Filialen, verteilt auf die verschiedenen Regionen der Schweiz und unterschiedliche Fachgebiete.
Wichtig zu wissen für Berufseinsteiger:innen: Es lohnt sich, verschiedene Personalvermittlungen zu vergleichen. Je nach Fachgebiet kann einem eine Personalvermittlung durchaus bei der Stellensuche behilflich sein. Dies hängt aber sehr stark vom Fachgebiet ab. Für Hochschulabsolvent:innen sind v.a. spezialisierte Personalvermittlungen hilfreich (spezialisiert auf Finance, Pharma, Ingenieure). Es lohnt sich, auch kleinere sogenannte "Berater Boutiquen" anzuschauen. Oft sind diese auf einen Nischenmarkt spezialisiert (Ingenieure, Pharma, Quants etc.).

3. Personalverleihbetriebe

Meistens eher grössere Unternehmen mit mehreren Filialen, verteilt auf die unterschiedlichen Regionen der Schweiz. Diese Personaldienstleister:innen sind spezialisiert auf den Personalverleih. Im Auftrag des Kunden rekrutieren die Personalvermittler:innen die Kandidat:innen und stellen sie dann auch selber ein. Die Personalvermittler:innen wiederum haben dann einen Ausleihvertrag mit dem Kunden. Viele Grossunternehmungen nutzen diese Art der Rekrutierung für befristete Projekte.
Wichtig zu wissen für Berufseinsteiger:innen: Hier gibt es oft Chancen für Berufseinsteiger:innen, über Projekte in eine Grossfirma zu gelangen.

Allgemeine Tipps für Hochschulabsolvent:innen

  • Trend: Der Trend bei der Suche nach Berufseinsteigern geht momentan bei den Unternehmen eher wieder in Richtung inhouse Rekrutierung. Für spezialisierte und auf dem Markt gesuchte Profile nehmen die Unternehmen aber oft die Hilfe von Personalvermittlungen in Anspruch.
  • Deshalb: Je spezialisierter und gesuchter das Profil, desto eher mit Personalvermittlung.
  • Projekt als Einstieg in eine Firma: Die Möglichkeit, über eine befristete, temporäre Stelle in ein Unternehmen zu gelangen, ins Auge fassen!
  • Zusammenarbeit mit Personalvermittlungen: Nicht mit zu vielen Vermittlungen zusammenarbeiten und Doppelspurigkeiten vermeiden. Immer nachfragen, wo die Vermittlung Ihre Bewerbung hinschickt. Unternehmen reagieren äusserst schlecht darauf, wenn sie eine Bewerbung für die gleiche Stelle doppelt erhalten.
  • Es existieren viele private Vermittlungsstellen. Diese haben Verträge mit Unternehmen und vermitteln Stellen, die nicht ausgeschrieben sind.
  • Unter www.avg-seco.admin.ch findest du ein Verzeichnis der bewilligten privaten Arbeitsvermittlungs- und Personalverleihbetriebe.
  • Der Verband der Personaldienstleister Swissstaffing bieten dir die Möglichkeit, kantonal und branchenspezifisch nach Vermittlungsbüros zu suchen.

RAV

Wenn du arbeitslos gemeldet bist, kannst du die öffentliche Stellenvermittlung durch die Regionalen Arbeitsvermittlungszentren RAV in Anspruch nehmen (weitere Informationen zum RAV).