Resume / CV

A good resume in tabular form is easy to read and clearly structured, and conveys a lot of information to the reader in a matter of seconds. It should comprise no more than two to three pages and contain the following information:

 

Personal Details

  • First and last name (if it is not clear which is your first and which is your last name, you can specify them [first name and last name: Hans Josef]).
  • Full address without abbreviations like “str” (e.g. Bahnhofstrasse, not Bahnhofstr.)
  • Telephone number(s) always specify when giving several numbers (mobile, office, home). Ideally you should supply one number on which you can always be reached. Throughout the application period, you should keep your telephone answering device activated and ensure that the message is businesslike.
  • A professional e-mail address (first name.last name@uzh.ch)
  • Date and place of birth
  • If necessary your nationality, if it is not clear from you name and place of birth that you are a Swiss citizen. Non-nationals should cite their residence and working permits (L/B/C).
  • Optional: Information on marital status and children

Application Photo

If the job ad does not ask for a photo, you are free to decide whether to supply one or not. However, a photo does make your application more personal. Since an application photo is designed to present you at your best, it must fulfill the following criteria:

  • High quality/resolution in color or in black and white (this applies equally to paper photos and digital images in electronic applications).
  • Pleasant look, relaxed and friendly smile (passport photos from a booth on which you are not permitted to smile and which are smaller than real application photos are not ideal.)
  • Natural, well-groomed appearance, with formal and discreet clothes, appropriate for an interview in your line of business (shirt, blouse, jacket, blazer)
  • Recent photo (max. 2 years old). Do not select a photo that is five years old just because you particularly like it. Choose one that is recent. It is important that you are authentic and honest.
  • Neutral background   
  • The portrait should be limited to head and shoulders. Never provide a full-body shot. The photo should be between 4.5 x 6.5 cm and 6 x 9 cm in size.
  • Never use photos taken on your mobile phone, or personal holiday pictures, etc. Supply photos that are specially created to apply for a job in that specific business.

You can get inexpensive photos for your application at Foto Welti

Education

Students and graduates with little professional experience are advised to list their academic achievements first, starting with their school-leaving certificate, stating the month and year, without gaps, in reverse chronological order (e.g. 09/2008 - 09/2010). The information must include

  • Name and place of the institution and the qualification that was or is to be achieved
  • Study program or combination of subjects
  • Optionally, the title of the final thesis or research priorities and areas of interest
  • Semester abroad and research stays spent during the course of your studies
  • Expected time of degree completion or grade (if good or excellent) 
  • Time frame

Professional Experience

Structure and formulate your professional experience in the same way as for your education. State

  • Name and place of the company/institution and the department in which you were working
  • Job title
  • Duties and functions that you fulfilled there
  • Time period of your employment (e.g. 07/2010 – today)

Categorize your duties and functions into fields of activity (e.g. administration, organization, management, sales), taking a separate line for each field of activity and avoiding line breaks. Begin each time with the duties that demonstrate a high degree of responsibility and own initiative and which are most relevant for the new job. Adapt your resume to the job you are applying for.

Professional experience also includes traineeships and temporary part-time jobs, however sporadic or irregular. If these are not relevant to the new job and you have since gained more interesting professional experience then you can consolidate them into one period, e.g. 08/1996 - 12/2010 various activities in sales, administration, customer service, childcare.

Further Experience

Ideally, you should structure and formulate further experience in the same way as your education and professional experience. Further experience could be 

  • Voluntary work (fire service volunteer) and involvement at the University (student organization, student union, etc.)
  • Military service (giving the length of the service and military rank; officers and above can cite military service as professional experience.) 
  • Minor courses of continuing education that do not count towards your degree.

Language Skills 

List in the left hand column the languages you speak, and specify your written and spoken levels in the right hand column. Common terms of specification include mother tongue, business proficient, fluent, excellent, good, basic knowledge. It is worth consulting the CEFR scale developed by the Council of Europe describing the levels A1 to C2.

If you have learned languages to certificate level here or abroad, state this under the particular language in the right hand column and state on the left the year or time period in which you gained the certificate or attended a language school abroad.

IT Skills

Categorize your IT skills into two columns, as for your language skills. How you fill out the columns largely depends on the scope of your IT skills and technical competencies in relation to operational, hardware, and network systems. In the column on the left, you can list terms such as data processing, graphics, audio, etc. and add details of the corresponding programs on the right. Alternatively, you can specify the individual programs in the left hand column and describe your application skills on the right with terms like “experienced user” or “basic knowledge”.

Hobbies and Interests

Sporting interests can give insight into whether you are a team player or a lone fighter, an introvert or an extrovert. As your hobbies should ideally reflect advantageous aspects of your character that relate to the job, only mention hobbies that you can say something meaningful about. Be careful not to generalize but give precise information. Again, we recommend two columns : On the left, enter general terms like sport, travel, reading, etc. and on the right give details, for example by naming the individual sports, any awards you have won, or information on long-term club activities. Hobbies like reading should not be substantiated with book titles but with information on your favorite genre or your preferred authors, for example.

References

There is an unwritten law that says that references should not be listed on a resume if this is not explicitly mentioned in the job ad. However, you can show that you have references with the following sentence: “References will be made available upon request.” In the event that references are requested, see the section on references under Enclosures.

List of Publications

If you have already published works and this is relevant to the position, you can list your works or excerpts from them. This applies to jobs for academics and scientists but also to jobs that require experience in editing, using various communication channels, or communications geared to a specific target group.

Tips

  • Now it’s time to reverse roles: Think about who will look at your portfolio and what that person will want to see. Ultimately, the bait is for the fish and not for the angler.
  • Adapt your resume according to each position advertised.
  • Keep your phrasing short and precise, and design the document to ensure that future employers and HR staff can acquire a picture of you within seconds.
  • Draw up a strategy to deal with questions regarding gaps in your resume at the interview. Also include partially concluded study programs in your resume, since you gained competencies in those subjects too.

Lebenslauf / CV

Ein guter tabellarischer Lebenslauf ist klar und übersichtlich gegliedert und vermittelt dem Lesenden viele Informationen in wenigen Sekunden. Das Dokument sollte nicht mehr als zwei bis drei Seiten umfassen und folgende Informationen enthalten:

 

Persönliche Angaben

  • Vor- und Nachname (falls nicht eindeutig ist, welcher dein Vorname und welches dein Nachname ist, kannst du deine Angaben bezeichnen (Vor- u. Nachname: Hans Josef.)
  • vollständige Adresse ohne Abkürzungen wie str.
  • Telefonnummer(n) immer mit der jeweiligen Bezeichnung der Telefonverbindung (Mobil, Festnetz, Büro, Privat), wenn du mehrere Nummern angibst. Gib im Idealfall nur eine Nummer an, auf der du jedoch immer erreichbar bist. Während der Bewerbungsphase sollte dein Anrufbeantworter eingeschaltet und mit einer seriösen Ansage besprochen sein.
  • eine professionelle E-Mail Adresse (Vorname.Nachname@uzh.ch)
  • Geburtsdatum und Geburtsort
  • ggf. deine Nationalität, sofern aus deinem Namen und Geburtsort die CH-Nationalität nicht klar hervorgeht. Ausländische Bürger sollten ihre Aufenthalts- und Arbeitsbewilligung anführen (L/B/C).
  • Fakultativ: Angaben zu Zivilstand und Kinder

Bewerbungsfoto

Wenn in der Stellenausschreibung kein Foto verlangt wird, bist du frei zu entscheiden, ob du eines beifügen möchtest. Mit einem Foto wirkt deine Bewerbung jedoch persönlicher. Das Bewerbungsfoto dient dem Zweck, Sie optimal darzustellen und erfüllt folgende Standards:

  • hochwertige Qualität/Auflösung in Farbe oder schwarz-weiss (Dies gilt für echte Fotografien und digitale Bilder in elektronischen Bewerbungen.)
  • sympathisches Erscheinungsbild, entspannt und freundlich lächeln (Automatenpassbilder, auf denen du nicht lächeln darfst und die kleiner sind als echte Bewerbungsfotos sind nicht optimal.)
  • natürliches, gepflegtes Äusseres, mit formeller und dezenter Kleidung, angemessen für ein Bewerbungsgespräch in der entsprechenden Branche (Hemd, Sakko, Blazer)
  • aktuelle Aufnahme (max. 2 Jahre alt). Wähle kein fünf Jahre altes Foto aus, nur weil es dir besonders gut gefällt. Verwende ein aktuelles Foto. Es ist wichtig, dass du authentisch und ehrlich wirkst.
  • neutraler Hintergrund   
  • der Bildausschnitt sollte sich auf den Kopf und die Schulterpartien begrenzen. Verwende auf keinen Fall ein Ganzkörperportrait. Dein Foto sollte zwischen 4,5 x 6,5 cm und 6 x 9 cm gross sein.
  • Verwende auf keinen Fall Handyfotos, private Aufnahmen bzw. Urlaubsbilder etc. Verwende Fotos, die speziell für eine Bewerbung in einer spezifischen Branche erstellt wurden.

Preiswerte Bewerbungsfotos erhalten Sie z.B. bei Foto Welti

Ausbildung

Studierende und Absolvent*innen mit wenig Berufserfahrung führen sinnvoller Weise zuerst akademische und schulische Leistungen ab Matura an, jeweils mit den entsprechenden Monats- und Jahreszahlen in lückenloser, umgekehrt chronologischer Reihenfolge (z.B. 09/2008 – 09/2010). Die Angaben umfassen

  • Name und Ort der Institution und der erreichte oder zu erreichende Abschluss
  • Studiengang oder Studienfächerkombination
  • fakultativ den Titel der Abschlussarbeit oder Forschungsschwerpunkte und Interessengebiet
  • Auslandssemester und Forschungsaufenthalte die im Rahmen des Studiums erfolgt sind
  • voraussichtlicher Zeitpunkt des Abschlusses oder die Abschlussnote (wenn gut oder hervorragend) 
  • Zeitraum

Berufserfahrung

Strukturiere und formuliere deine Berufserfahrung entsprechend der vorherigen Angaben zu deiner Ausbildung. Nenne

  • Name und Ort der Firma/Institution und die Abteilung für die du tätig warst
  • Deine Stellenbezeichnung
  • die Aufgaben und Funktionen, die du dort erfüllt hast
  • den Zeitraum der Anstellung (z. B. 07/2010 – heute)

Gliedere deine Aufgaben und Funktionen in Bereiche (z. B. Administration, Organisation, Management, Verkauf). Verwende für jeden Aufgabenbereich eine separate Zeile und vermeide Zeilenumbrüche. Beginne jeweils mit den Aufgaben, die ein hohes Mass an Verantwortung und Selbstständigkeit signalisieren und für die neue Stelle am relevantesten sind. Passe deinen CV jeweils an die Stelle an, auf die du dich bewirbst.

Zur Berufserfahrung zählen auch Praktika und Nebenjobs, denen du sporadisch und unregelmässig nachgegangen bist. Sofern diese für die neue Stelle nicht relevant sind und du zwischenzeitlich interessantere Berufserfahrungen gesammelt hast, kannst du diese zu einem Zeitraum zusammenfassen, z. B. 08/1996 – 12/2010 verschiedene Tätigkeiten in den Bereichen Verkauf, Administration, Kundenservice, Babysitten.

Weitere Erfahrungen

Weitere Erfahrungen strukturierst und formulierst du im Idealfall wie die Angaben zur Ausbildung und Berufserfahrung. Als weitere Erfahrungen gelten 

  • ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten (Freiwilligenfeuerwehr) und Engagement an der Universität (Fachschaft, Studierendenvertretung etc.)
  • Aktivitäten beim Militär (mit Dauer des Dienstes und Militärgrad; ab dem Offiziersgrad können Sie den Militärdienst als Berufserfahrung ausweisen.) 
  • kleinere Weiterbildungen, die du absolviert hast und nicht zur Ausbildung zählen

Sprachkompetenzen 

Führe in der linken Spalte die Sprachen an und konkretisiere deine schriftlichen und mündlichen Kompetenzen in der rechten Spalte. Gängige Kategorien zur Spezifizierung sind Muttersprache, verhandlungssicher, fliessend, sehr gut, gut, Grundkenntnisse. Empfehlenswert ist die CEFR-Skala des Europarats mit den Niveaus A1 bis C2.

Falls du Sprachdiplome oder Sprachaufenthalte gemacht hast, führst du diese unter der jeweiligen Sprache in der rechten Spalte an und nennst in der linken das Jahr oder den Zeitraum, in dem du das Zertifikat erworben oder den Aufenthalt gemacht hast.

Informatikkenntnisse

Glieder deine Informatikkenntnisse analog zu deinen Sprachkompetenzen mit zwei Spalten. Wie du die Spalten ausfüllst, hängt im Wesentlichen vom Umfang deiner Softwarekenntnisse und technischen Kompetenzen in Bezug auf Betriebs-, Hardware- und Netzwerksysteme ab. Du kannst links Begriffe wie Datenverarbeitung, Grafik, Audio etc. einfügen und diese in der rechten Spalte mit den entsprechenden Programmen ergänzen. Alternativ kannst du in der linken Spalte die einzelnen Programme nennen und deine Anwendungskenntnisse in der rechten Spalte mit Ausdrücken wie „sicherer Umgang“ oder „Grundkenntnisse“ konkretisieren.

Hobbys & Interessen

Sportliche Hobbys können etwas darüber aussagen, ob du Teamplayer oder Einzelkämpfer*in, intro- oder extrovertiert bist. Im Idealfall bringen deine Hobbys vorteilhafte Charakterzüge zum Ausdruck, die zudem noch in einem Zusammenhang mit der Stelle stehen. Führe aber nur Hobbys an, zu denen du auch tatsächlich etwas zu sagen hast. Bleibe nicht im Allgemeinen, sondern werde präzise. Dafür empfehlen sich ebenfalls zwei Spalten: Links fügst du Oberbegriffe wie Sport, Reisen, Lesen usw. an und rechts konkretisierst du die Informationen, mit den entsprechenden Sportarten, allfälligen Auszeichnungen oder Informationen über längerfristige Vereinsaktivitäten. Hobbys wie Lesen konkretisierst du nicht mit Buchtiteln, sondern z. B. mit Angaben zu deinem Lieblingsgenre oder deinem/r bevorzugten Autor*innen.

Referenzen

Es gibt ein ungeschriebenes Gesetz, das besagt, dass Referenzen nicht im CV aufgeführt werden, wenn dies nicht ausdrücklich in der Stellenanzeige gefordert wird. Zeige aber auf, dass du über Referenzen verfügst mit dem Satz: "Referenzen werden auf Wunsch gerne bekannt gegeben." Für den Fall, dass Referenzen gefordert werden, vgl. Abschnitt Referenzen unter Beilagen.

Publikationsliste

Falls du bereits publiziert hast und dies für die Stelle von Bedeutung ist, kannst du deine Publikationen oder einen Auszug daraus auflisten. Dies gilt für Stellen im akademischen und wissenschaftlichen Bereich, aber auch für solche, die Erfahrung in der zielgruppengerechten Kommunikation, der Nutzung verschiedener Kommunikationsmittel oder Redaktion verlangen.

Tipps

  • Mach einen Perspektivenwechsel: Überleg dir, wer dein Dossier anschauen wird und worauf die zuständige Person achten wird. Der Köder ist schliesslich für den Fisch und nicht für den Angler.
  • Pass deinen Lebenslauf jeweils individuell auf die ausgeschriebene Stelle an.
  • Mach präzise und kurze Formulierungen und gestalte das Dokument so, dass sich künftige Arbeitgebende oder Personalverantwortliche innerhalb weniger Sekunden ein Bild von deinem Profil machen können.
  • Leg dir für das Bewerbungsgespräch eine Strategie zu allfälligen Lücken/Unterbrechungen in deinem Lebenslauf bereit. Führe auch abgebrochene Studiengänge in deinem Lebenslauf auf, denn du hast in den entsprechenden Fächern Kompetenzen erworben.